Different materials for different pieces of a character vs single material

I am a complete beginner on the art side of video games. I was wondering how much of a difference there is between using one material that covers an entire character’s skeletal mesh vs using different materials for different parts of the character. For example, the skin portions of a character use one material, his armor uses another, his shoes another, etc. On the one hand, I feel like this would allow for some nice and easy customization - changing the material on a part of the mesh in order to reskin armor and make it look totally different without having to have two different meshes. On the other hand, I don’t know if doing it this way is very taxing for the computer. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Adding a material for a mesh adds another draw call, which slows down performance. But it can depend on what you’re doing. Many games have customization systems where there’s like 5 different parts that can be swapped out, so there’s no option than to have separate mesh pieces and separate materials. But, if you don’t need that, then you would want to lower the number of materials, typically there’s a material for the head and then one for the rest of the body.

Also, remember that color customizations can be done with material instancing, so that doesn’t require a completely new material.

Just curious - is an additional draw call less efficient than processing entire material bitmap with some color filter at runtime? If yes, then why? As a programmer, I have used to idea that generally it is better to cache/precalculate everything because nowadays memory is dirt cheap but CPU/GPU cycles are expensive. Is it otherwise with 3D materials?

I’m not sure if instancing means you can reduce draw calls, but it reduces the number of shaders at least

It seems to me that the number of draw calls can easily become a problem more than running out of memory