Different Footstep Sounds on Different Materials

Hi! I’m a sound designer working on a game and am trying to learn UE4 to be able to implement my own sounds into the game. One thing that I cannot seem to find any documentation or tutorials on is how to get different footstep sounds on different materials. If anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be veyr welcome! Thanks!

This thread is a little bit old (from the beta-time): https://answers.unrealengine/questions/7437/question-how-to-add-footstep-sounds.html but probably it is still working

I actually figured out how to do this right after I posted the thread, haha… Oh well, if anyone want it explained to them I’ll be happy to help!

I don’t need it right now, maybe later. But post the solution anyway, that way when someone search the forums, we have the solution :slight_smile:

I’m interested in the perfect solution too, of course, but wish to take it one step (ha) further. Not just a single sound effect, but a collection of sounds, softer and louder that randomly play when a foot hits the ground. A player’s speed or animation affects sound volume/type.

Crawling and walking are both slow movements, but different sounding, for example. Running is just walking quickly, but requires a different set of sounds. Using one single footstep sound works, but takes out the “life” from the project.

So basically I’m asking the same question as OP, but how to do it more “organically” with randomness in the sounds.

So the ultimate question: How to Blueprint player speed/animation type + ground material + random loud/soft sound effects?

I don’t know about organic, but you can also add a node in a blueprint if that’s your thing to slightly adjust pitch and volume for each instance of collision/whatever. I’ve that for my projectiles, pulling from a library of about 5 samples for each projectile, and it makes it easier on the ears for sure!