Dev kit keep freezing

I’m trying to set up a new mod. I create the new folder under mods, but when i try to move the three files over everything freezes. It doesn’t matter which of the three i try or if i use copy or make a child the whole thing locks up.
It’s not taking a while to load mind you, it actually freezes. I have to close it down in the task manager where it says (not responding).

This is my first time using the dev kit and i’m just following posted tutorials, what (if anything) am i doing wrong here?

same thing keeps happening to me.

ok so i figured out what the problem is, your gonna be ****** too. Turns out, there is nothing wrong. When you move the files, the dev kit uses so much of its memory that it basically shuts down until the files are moved over. That is why it doesnt respond. If you just let it sit for 10-15 minutes maybe, your dev kit will respond again and you will find the files in the folder you copied them too. Trust me, you just have to wait it out. Its great to learn that there is nothing really wrong, but it sucks because the contest is over and you could have built mods this whole time. I am in the same boat. hope that works for you

Incorrect, the contest deadline was pushed to April 1st. Source.

This is technically inaccurate. The DevKit (read: Game Engine Development Program - not your average piece of software) actually locks out interaction while it loads references and assets into memory then proceeds to build/compile shaders as it needs to. It doesn’t lock up because it’s using too much memory, it “shuts down” while it starts soaking up memory so that it can do everything from that point on - generally - instantly. If the wait is too long, you’re either impatient or your hard drive is inadequate in it’s read speeds.