Dev City -- Fuller, North Carolina

Dear Tim, I love you! Marry me, okay… if not that, let’s settle on founding a new city!?

All kidding aside, this is a long post. But one that I think many creators and game designers can identify with. So here is my story.

As a kid I always wanted to make games, when other kids would say they wanted to be an Astronaut or fire fighter I said I wanted to make video games. I remember combining my love for loony toons with Super Mario and imagining Mario being flattened into a pancake and floating up, like Wile E Coyote, after being stomped by a Thwomp… at five years old.

So from an early start, I was focused on what I wanted to do: make games. But in going to do it I have only been met with hurdles. Making a game is hard enough, but the extra challenges of simple life navigation add into the difficulties.

In 2009 I graduated with my degree in electronic media, I immediately joined an indie team volunteering my work in the UDK (pre UE3) and we ended up placing 3rd places in a level design contest, yay! But as I was living in south Florida this is around 2010, there was no real market for game designers and after being laughed out of the room for asking for a 40k salary at a middle-wear company I left south Florida for the bigger market of Los Angeles. I figured I could pursue both games and films VFX and animation there as there is an overlap in the skill sets.

After 5 years of working in games media with a few of the early gaming MCN’s I decided to start developing again when Oculus came out. I had gotten a DK1 and a DK 2 and was developing in unreal around 2015. I had actually purchased UE4 the last month before you decided to give it away. This really blew my mind.