Detour Crowds Question: How to use your own movement steering component to follow path from crowds

Hi all,

Hope all’s well!

I’m new to UE4 and the forums, have limited experience still and had a quick question for you all.

I was working on a scene involving crowds, and I’m currently using a DetourCrowds AI controller. So it works, the characters avoid one another and I’m happy with the overall paths.
I’m not happy with the unnatural movement of the characters as they follow those paths however, the characters slide around the paths whilst rotating in place and they don’t bank naturally while walking.
I’ve set up my own movement controller that takes a target point as input and makes character walk/bank/steer naturally towards the target. however I’d like to integrate this with the detour crowd, essentially taking intermediate points from crowd as input to my movement component.

Unfortunately, the current implementation of detour crowd has a task that uses

‘Move to Location or Actor’

Unfortunately, this moves the actor directly, but I need this component as it also considers some pathfinding, overlap, partial path etc. otherwise I’d have to write my own custom one.
What I want to do is use this node but to obtain only deltas or intermediate target positions and NOT apply the movement on the character himself. I want to apply my own movement using the target point/paths as reference from the move node in question.

Is this possible to achieve? How can I use ‘Move to Location or Actor’ to retrieve target path points or deltas and use my own steering/movement component to affect velocity and turn rate instead of having them app;lied by node directly, because as is the node does all the movement for me.