Detecting the surrounding environment - is there a method faster than trace?

Is there a way for an actor to ‘sense’ its surroundings (especially landscape) that is computationally faster than trace?

I’m a hobbyist using UE4 to build an evolved AI system with an evolutionary artificial neural network. I’m not using any of the higher level navigation built into the engine, because I want to instead feed sensory data into the neural network of each AI so they can evolve their own navigational decisions. I made a similar project in UDK using raytracing, but the computational cost of 100+ ‘bots’ raytracing in 28 directions every tick was prohibitive.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Zach

Very interesting… what kind of sense are you talking about?

If it’s just environmental landscape then I don’t think you need to call this every tick, since it won’t be changing much from time to time. :slight_smile:

You can spread out your environment data collection over many ticks!

You dont have to do all 28 traces in one tick.

You can have a global variable and then a tick function and increment that global variable and run the appropriate trace / angle for that tick :slight_smile:

End result: each bot is only doing 1 trace per tick, but still acquires sufficient environment data very quickly!

Keep in mind that in the C++ your code is running soooo much faster!

At least 10x times faster!

So you will get the data you need fast enough with even only 1 trace per tick per bot!

Welcome to UE4 C++ !

, you are absolutely awesome. :smiley:

I’m looking forward to seeing where AI System goes. Sounds very interesting. Keep us updated! Good Luck! XD

If the terrain isn’t changing, you can pre-compute the terrain input along some regularly spaced grid, and quickly look it up.
Then modify the static environment precomputation with dynamic actors on an as-needed basis.

Awww thanks!

Hee hee!

Thanks for the replies!