Decompiling and cheating in UE4 games

All,

Just curious on a couple of concerns.

• I’ve read in docs that blueprints are compiled to bytecode. Can this be reversed and allow people to cheat in a UE4 game?
  • In the ShooterGame example, are physics handled client or serverside? Could a client hack allow a player to walk through a wall?

Based on the above I’d like to come up with a design that minimizes the ability to cheat in a multiplayer game. And was thinking through this, I’m new to UE4 so still trying to get some of the concepts.

Thank you in advance for any insight!!

-Sal

No matter what you do, you will never be able to fully stop a player cheating or hacking . The only thing you can do is like you say minimise the risk by smart programming . When working always say to yourself never trust the client . do anything important run on the server , client should only be in charge of cosmetic and visual stuff. You can try to add checks in to catch clients cheating for example when a client moves you know that in X amount of seconds they should have travelled X amount of distance so then you check there old position to the new position if it is irregular then chances are they have cheated eg changed there speed , teleported across map etc

Once game is done you can do something called code abstraction to help stop reverse engineering. Basically what you do is copy all of you’re code so you have the clean master version and then In the version you ship to players you would go through and make you’re code unreadable so you would give variables rubbish names , change names of functions to not make sense etc so if someone was trying to reverse engineer they would have a difficult time.