Day 15- Blendable, Paintable, Dynamic Gerstner Waves

I’m new to all of this. By that, I mean that 16 days ago, I didn’t know what a sine wave was, I didn’t know what PBR stood for, I had never heard the term HLSL before, and I had opened Unreal Engine and World Machine twice before in my life, only to close them when I couldn’t navigate the interfaces.

But 15 days ago, I finally found the motivation to make my own game. Largely due to finally solving a piece of the puzzle of high-level design concepts I’d not been able to solve for several years, that had prevented me from thinking my ideas were fully worth sharing. Once I had that, my confidence was in place and I set my sights on learning whatever I needed to learn to make these things a reality.

Though I have learned a lot these past 2 weeks, I feel the hardest thing to accomplish was to successfully layer so many different effects into an ocean material that I can now simply “paint” to make quick alterations to wave layers, wherein the waves respect the depth of the water from the moment of import, and are somewhat pre-prepared for later functionality relating to gameplay such as weather effects and entity triggers to alter their behavior in real-time.

This is arguably the least excited I’ve sounded in a video since the inception of this project, but that’s just because I’m highly sleep deprived. That being said, here’s my day 15 outcome where I finally solved how to tie so many effects together without excessive anomalies. I’m not finished, I plan to go much further on this. But blending the waves was one of the more difficult things I’ve had to learn thus far. Probably the most difficult.