Data driven level creation

Hi all,

I work as a producer in a AAA company. A few days ago I had an idea : what if we could use very simple tools that everybody in the industry knows like Photoshop, Illustrator or Premiere to create entire levels that we can test and iterate in an ULTRA fast manner using some kind of “translation rules”.

The goal is to give to the creative core (art director, game director, narrative director etc.) a way to iterate using top view maps. Those top view maps would be created using these simple tools and would then be translated into a fully playable 3d level in UE4 through a series of scripts outside UE4 and blueprint inside it. I really don’t care about art at this point as the goal is to test the flow of a map and not make it beautiful.

I came up with the following design for this pipeline :

• First we need a terrain (an elevation). Photoshop would be used to create it with a simple grayscale texture. If we need verticality (e.g. a house with multiple levels) then we could use multiple layers.
  • Then we need a way to place object in the map. Illustrator, Microsoft Visio or any kind of vertor based graphic tool would be used to that extent. So anything like props, NPCs, vfx emmitters or any other kind of “placable” objects in Visio and would also have their counterpart in-engine. The idea here would be that everything than can be placed in Visio would have their actual 3d object equivalent in the engine.
  • Finally we need a way to create timelines for stuff like dialogs, cutscenes, etc. Premiere would be used as a sequencer for that. Same idea that Illustrator except shapes and form would exists only as specific timings.

Now for the actual implementation of this design :