Damaged Wall in Unreal Engine 4

Hello guys,

iam actually up on building a little scene in ue4. Therefore i want to place a damaged and kind of “rough” wall. I made my own tileable texture out of creating stones in zBrush, polypaint them and bake my maps after.

How can i create a damaged wall in UE4. It shall be look something like in this direction:

I dont know if i’ve to model these pieces and let them look destructive and fit the texture to it anyway or do it in the engine. So in this cause iam a totaly noob. Hope you guys can give a good problem solving.

Greetz

Hey, I am a newbie but will try to use my newly acquired knowledge to answer your question.

I am not sure if you mean: You want the wall to be destroyable or if you want it to be damaged as a static mesh.

Now these are 2 different things.

To make an object destroyable, you will need to use blueprints. The way you can do this is tell the blueprints that when your object is hit it should switch to the next mesh (destroyed mesh), and to play this animation (destroying animation).

https://youtube/watch

If you want to just make a wall that looks like this, get a free program like Blender, and learn it. If you have money invest in either Maya or 3DS , and ZBrush.

Use these tools too:

1. Build the general mesh
  2. Use ZBrush to refine
  3. Get textures, normal maps etc (materials)
  4. UV Unrwap if needed
  5. Add the textures
  6. Fix everything up a little bit
  7. Import into assets and add it to your scene.

In order to learn to create assets such as that wall you will want to learn some modelling.

You have to do it in a 3d program -> ?v=FV-sn8qGRRg (this is a very basic example) I would also recommend you to take a look at the destroyed stuff in Skyrim -> they have made everything in the 3d program :slight_smile:

Hey there,