Customization Menu blueprinting UE5

(but actually UE5)
Good day developers, I have something i need help with and i have no clue where to start , i am trying to create a customization system for my game and i have the ui and some test icons working and showing. but now how do i make it that when i click on the icon it shows the helmet on the mesh, and when i select another helmet it must change to that one and get rid of the old helmet mesh, the character is made up of different armor pieces that are skeletal meshes attached to the character pawn.

my thinking is since its already attached to the character pawn ,why not have all the armor pieces attached and have them all set to not visible , and when you click on the icon it rechecks that box and displays the corresponding armor piece, is this even possible , i have little to no experience with coding and blueprinting any help will be appreciated.

It’s been a while since I’ve meddled with my customization menu but the way I recall handling it was calling a function in my character through the UI blueprint. Essentially what I had in the menus was a dummy character BP whose sole purpose was to showcase customization.

Clicking on different options in the UI BP would then call a function in the character dummy BP that would update it with the desired selection (Set Skeletal Mesh, Set Material) , and save the settings (materials, skeletal mesh) to a custom data table that would then be called in the main character BP whenever it was initially loaded.

Since you’re using different piece slots you’ll want to make sure that if you got the route of a dedicated display BP for your menus, you keep consistency with the target skeletal mesh naming and what’s being set so you can seamlessly transition it to your playable character BP.