Custom Flow Control Macro Library - Request for Feedback

Edit: A more recent version of this library can be found here

A while back I recall finding myself unsatisfied with the number of flow control nodes in UE4 and set out to create my own library to meet the needs of my projects.

I was recently reviewing the library and was wondering why no one else had thought of creating these. I’m no computer programmer unfortunately, so I have no idea if what I created is effective or not (or heresy to the standards of programming), but I thought I would post them here to see if anyone had any feedback regarding them (or if anyone would find them useful to use themselves).

I’ll first explain each of the macros and what their purpose is, then go into detail regarding how they work. The macros I’ve developed are as follows:

OnFlowStop

As its name implies, this node will fire an execution pulse on the frame that it no longer receives an execution pulse. In the above example, “No Longer Walking” will be printed to screen when character movement switches away from Walking mode.

This node is very useful for situations where a follow through or cleanup actions are needed to be done upon leaving a state.

OnFlowStart

Again simply named, OnFlowStart will only allow pass the first execution pulse of a flow. In the example provided, the message “Started Walking” will only be printed to screen upon the character entering the Walking state. Note that without the OnFlowStart node, the message would be printed every frame that the character was in the Walking State. The node also has a Resend pin that, upon receiving an execution pulse, will refire the output pulse, regardless of what’s going on with the Flow pin.

Combining this node with the OnFlowStop node can be very powerful as it allows for both initialization of a state and cleanup of a state. Kind of similar to a constructor and destructor.

FlowChargeUp