Creating one USE key for multiple events

Hi there,

I’m completely new to UE and have been slowly bumbling along, watching tutorial vids all week but have hit a snag.

I want to walk up to a light switch and turn on multiple lights at once using ‘E’ - DONE!
I also have a secret door that’s activated when you press ‘E’ on a book.

My issue is that the way i have set up begin+end overlap to Enable + Disable Input means that when i enter ANY trigger box and hit ‘E’ it will trigger the secret door to open… so not that secret when the light switch opens the door

I assume there’s a way of isolating the ‘E’ key to only work on what triggers are near by???

Any help would be fantastic, but a picture of how to fix this would be amazing!

Cheers,

Jim

If you already follow Epic’s light switch tutorial, the next step would be “blueprint communication” tutorial.
Which you still accept event ‘E’ for a book setup like a light switch, but instead of doing anything, you call a custom event that defined in your secret door BP that opens itself.
Where do you get this relationship then? you can save a reference by create a variable that is an instance(object with _C in name when you choose variable type) from your secret door BP.
OR, if it’s only level specific, you can use event dispatcher and BIND the book’s event to secret door’s open event.

Go check the tutorial if above is not clear to you, as you would need those knowledge to understand.

Thanks for the help PenguinTD. That tutorial helped me fix my ‘one switch for many lights’ issue by referencing push “E” inside the switch blueprint and the lights (in another BP) as opposed to in level blueprint
845bd25d7232c46f60bb920522a9f2e010154059.jpeg