Creating Games like Mass Effect 3, KOTOR, etc...?

So I’m primarily a creative producer, writer, fiction enthusiasts, and film maker. I’ve had some pretty epic stories and characters that I’ve developed over the years and I want to start portraying them. Tried a few film-making KickStarters but without marketing and an audience they fell apart. BUT… I played Mass Effect (binged all three) and love the story telling with response to customer actions and felt OK about killing everything.

I want to create an RPG style game like Mass Effect 3 but I don’t want to spend hours on perfecting game mechanics with physic’s calculations that are currently out of my scope or hours in the model lab creating 3ds or obj files and pretending I know how to sculpt art. I don’t. BUT I can tell a story and I know what it takes to create an aesthetically pleasing and engaging cinematic experience.

So, I want to focus on the story. I want to focus on the elements that tell it - use models that are ready-to-go and stuff to build it. I’m ok tweaking code to make something work but I don’t want to start from scratch even in Unreal - which isn’t starting from scratch but it’s still daunting to create in.

Any ideas on what I should do? Tutorials, scripts, pre-built projects, etc that I can use to build the game and focus on the story more than the elements.

You’re going to be disappointed with the result if you try to build an entire game off pre-made assets. The gameplay is a big enough problem itself, but you’re not going to find character models that fit your story.

You are doomed to fail

So I just need to be a genius than… and build it all from scratch.

@JaanDoe Doomed. Doooomed. Doooooomed.

So your saying I should just build it from scratch… That may take a while but I suppose it’s the best way to ensure a great experience.

Wish me luck… this could take a year.