Creating Custom Character

Hi, I’m new to Unreal (but have experience in 3ds Max and Blender) and I am currently working on a new game that uses the Unreal Gaming engine.

However, one of the main characters of the game is based off of my friend, but I do not know how to create a 3D version of him into Unreal (like an almost exact copy). Can anyone help?

Possibly get a decent enough 3D scanner then rig up the model and create some animations (or use the stock ones).

Find app that allow you scan for 3D scanning.

123 catch by Autodesk? Good example.

Then use 3D Max - surface tool where you can “brush” base character mesh to match scan mesh…
Then render to texture tool to render the photograph scan into base character texture without re-do uv map.

I can post up a tutorial list if you don’t get my bad English…

So how am I suppose to 3D scan a full size human being…?

With something like 123 Catch you wouldn’t be scanning them as such. You’d be getting them the stand incredibly still and then taking a bunch of photos of them from all possible angles.

I believe the process is called photogrammetry.

Ok, and hopefully this will be hi-res right? I’m trying to am for The Divison level of detail for characters here. Can I rig the character up later? And are there any rent a 3D scanner shops in NYC where I can just bring my friend there and they’ll do the 3D scanning there?

Anyone? Any help would be appreciated.

As in whole body? Ah, that would be bad idea and too high for polygon count.
I’ll do it for you. Can you PM me what you need and what you can offer… I work this Monday to Friday.

Yea, that’s why I didn’t want to use 123d. I can offer you the beta, but that’s all I have to offer.

Does anyone know of another way to make an accurate model of my friend?

Hire a good zbrush artist and give them a bunch of reference photos.