Creating an In-game Box Selection

Hi! I’m relatively new to UE4, but I’ve got a few years of C++ experience. I’m not afraid to poke around in UE’s source code (which I’ve just been doing, but I’m getting nowhere fast).

So my brother is trying to make an RTS game, and a typical (and pretty necessary) part of RTS games is the ability to box select units. He’s tried using GetActorsInSelectionRectangle, but this has a nasty, unstated limitation: it only works if the camera is oriented vertically, looking straight down at the scene. From what my brother’s told me, it includes objects that may not even be on screen when using this function.

He explained the issue to me last night, and I’ve been tinkering around with it since. Two of the main challenges is that the player’s camera *will be rotated relative to the axis *and it also is using perspective projection, not orthographic. He probably wouldn’t mind switching to orthographic, but we cannot assume the camera will be in a fixed rotation. Maybe the player won’t be able to rotate it, but ideally it could at least be able to be rotated in the UE4 editor.

I have a few ideas, but I’m not too sure what makes the most sense. If you’ve already tackled something like this, chances are your solution is better than all of my ideas… if that describes you, don’t worry about reading through these.

Do keep in mind that some of these are based more on my general understanding of 3D space (gained from working with Unity and from a few math classes) than from my understanding of Unreal.

Solution 1: Frustums (or Pyramids)
[SPOILER]
This is the most direct approach, and it should always work. That being said, I think it’d also be the slowest?