Creating a deformation volume to warp a list of vertices locations

So I’ve never done this before. I’ve recently created a obj imported so I can now import any mesh I make externally directly into my c++ containers, and then into a Runtime Mesh Component. Now I’d like to add some functionality to warp and distort these objects on the fly. I know from using Maya that volumes are used to deform meshes. For my purposes I would like to start with a Volume triangle (I imagine this is the easiest). If anyone knows of some sources that I could read up on I would greatly appreciate it. Any input or advice on how to approach this is appreciated, thanks!

I would imagine this is a cut and paste type of operation. The best I’ve got figured out so far is that I need to get the new direction vector by something like…

FVector dA = deformToVertA - deformFromVertA;
FVector dB = deformToVertB - deformFromVertB;
FVector dC = deformToVertC - deformFromVertC;

Then maybe I move each sub vert in the new mesh (the mesh to be deformed) by its 0.0 - 1.0 distance to each vert using that corresponding direction vector (by the percent of distance to original vert) something like…

//Arbitrary vert in deform mesh
AVIDM += (((deformFromVertA - AVIDM).size() * dA) + ((deformFromVertB - AVIDM).size() * dB) + ((deformFromVertC - AVIDM).size() * dC)) / 3;

Someone shot me a helpful idea to use barycentric coordinates. Here. This seems very promising. FMath::ComputeBaryCentric3D will return a FVector4, each 0 - 1.0 float representing the percentage of distance towards it’s respective vertex. This is great because I could get the triangleToDeformTo barycentric center, then loop through each of the 4 verts defining this tetrahedron, get (vert - centerVert) * floatAmountForThisVert + centerVert. I wish there was an easier way to convert the bary coords to a vector, maybe that’s just wishful thinking. Also, I’ve heard there is a way to do this using matrices, does anyone know how that would work?