Create Procedural Star/Sun With Light

Apologies in advance if this isn’t the right space foe this question. Further apologies for this probably being asked and answered before, but my search-fu does not seem to be working this evening.

I want to create a solar system, complete with a singular procedural sun and at least one planet. I should point out that I am a beginner, and while what I want to end up with is huge, I want to start small and learn the concepts as I go along. I realize that this will take time, and I am more than fine with that. I also realize that there is a lot to learn, and that is ok too.

Anyhow, I’ve done all the requisite Google searches on the topic, and I have watched probably a dozen tutorials on basic level creation to this point. Unfortunately, none of the tutorials I’ve watched has given me exactly what I am looking for. They all give a little piece, and it is all the same piece: create SkyAtmosphere and SkyLight and DirectionalLight. This is all fine if I wasn’t trying to create a solar system.

So what am I after? A tutorial or instructions on how to create a procedural star. With appropriate lighting. Or would a simple sphere with the appropriate material be better? Could I potentially just follow Arghanion’s procedural neutron star tutorial and try to adapt it to be a K0 main sequence star?

Again, none of the tutorials 8 have seen, apart from the neutron star one I mentioned above, even comes close. I could probably fake a sphere with a material, but then the atmosphere of the star and the lighting will be foreign to me without help

Any help here would be most appreciated!

Basically what you need is a giant point light, but that’s not applicable to the scale you need, so you got to fake it some way or another.

There is no built in engine way that would provide anything like the effect of an omnidirectional light source.