Create from scratch or use existent "code". I am new here

I am a newbie. I want to create a little project to practice my c++ programming skills and learn in unreal engine. Nowadays people do everything from scratch or reuse code distributed over the internet?

I think the majority of UE users are using BP but a large group is using c++
You can join the github for unreal/epic and get the UE source there along with a couple different forks
but you don’t need the github source to make your own classes in the game, just start the project in as a c++ project not a bp one
Many of the epic projects for learning have c++ you can look at

1 Like

Thank you so much Chris! I will check the github. Yes, I want to program in c++ and not in blueprint because if at some point I want to scale the project, the organization with blueprints is going to be complicated.

Hey @Billy-Pilly, first off, welcome to the forums! Second, I admire your resolve! Learning C++ is an excellent goal, and you’re right scalability and the things you can pull off does increase with C++ and it’s a far more transferable skill. That said, the best way to learn is entirely subjective. Some people like myself are great at picking things apart and learning from the best practices off the bat, others learn better visually or by tutorial, and a rare few prefer to start with an empty blank canvas and hand-code everything from the bottom up. All are valid approaches, just swing for whatever feels best to you. That said here on the site we have ton’s of learning resources over at the new learning hub, and as always if you have any questions for us, don’t hesitate to ask here, we’re here to help!

:astonished: Interesting! Thank you! I’m gonna check that section.

I had understood that blueprints in large projects cannot match the performance that c++ provides. This is true?

always, blueprints are on a level above the c++ code and requires the engine to convert them to c++. c++ is always faster.

but how much?