Create a real world political map

Hi, I’m a newbie, and i would like to know how complicated it is to create a world map similar to Victoria 2 or other strategy games:

It could be with or without reliefs and height, and it would have rivers.

http://d1vnh8mbrp67em.cloudfront.net/image/file/1/7d/21811/0027169.jpg

I would need to divide the map in provinces and interact with them, and i would need to place 3d models on it.

How would you start? Copying the shape of the world seems very complicated

Thanks in advance.

Cant you just take a flattened globe map and 3d model the continents and add height maps to them ? This would take a considerable amount of time however .It also depends on the amount of detail you are after .This is a very difficult project in my opinion but im terrible lol . i hope you get some answers as i would like to see a good way of doing this

Also interested in the answer to this. Let me know if you come up with something!

Maybe get some DEM data and convert to heighmaps? Texturing is likely to be the pain.

Off the top of my head, I would guess to make a bunch of boxes that have some width and height, and then place them together to make a Riemann’s sum type deal. Then, I would put all those boxes in a parent object that is called the nation that you want.

so one approach for anykind of map is to use a “clickmap”.

basically an overlay texture. with solid fill color for each region you want to be clickable.
When the map is clicked, look up the pixel in the clickmap.
The rgb value maps to the lookup table so you know what area was clicked.

This lets you easily know when complex regions or areas are clicked.

Hope that helps…

I believe the borders in Europe Universalis 4 are spline based, you you might want to look into that. Also there is this svg importer that you might find useful: SVG Importer Plugin in Code Plugins - UE Marketplace