Create A Character Mode

I’ve been searching for a way to make a “Create A Player” or “Create A Character” mode on the main menu mode of my game. I have been looking for tutorials all over youtube but I cant seem to find anything other than creating one character for your game. I want my player to fully be able to customize what their character looks like. Physical features, hair style, clothes, etc. So if this can be done, can some one please help me out ? Thanks.

Hm.

I’m not sure if there is a quick, nicely wrapped packaged way to achieve what you’re looking for. This is also pretty dependent on what the player is “Creating a character” for. For the sake of providing some sort of answer for you, I’m going to assume you’re just looking for customization at the start of the game and not throughout. I’m pretty new to using UE4 as well, but off the top of my head, here are some things to consider:

**- To start, you’ll probably want to set everything that is customizable to variables that can be saved/properly loaded in your player’s save data. **This way, if your game features a save system, the game will automatically populate these settings when the game reloads. To be honest, this isn’t really different than saving any other variable in a game you’re making. In the same way that your player will want to have $90 of currency when they come back to the game, they’ll want their character to continue having blonde hair when they continue playing the game.

If you haven’t messed around with save states yet, you might want to look at:
Saving and Loading Your Game | Unreal Engine Documentation.

To make a really long story short, you could set up a system in which every time your main actor spawns, all the settings your character chose spawn with it.

• What is the scope of customization you’re looking for?**