Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of High Definition!

Some of you may have seen this on the Facebook group, since it’s a project that has a lot of interest already and that I’m really passionate about I thought I’d make a thread and keep updates going.

So, those of us old enough to remember the Playstation 1 era, undoubtedly played Crash Bandicoot. If you haven’t… GO PLAY IT!. I was deeply saddened to hear that Naughty Dog weren’t going to do anything with Crash. They made a Jak and Daxter HD pack but not a Crash Bandicoot!? What the heck!

I’ve decided to remake it in my spare time. Whether I follow the game exactly or not is still in the air. I’m more worried about getting the gameplay side down first, so I’ve just made a test map where I can spawn entities and quickly test the features.

Just a forewarning though, I’m not an artist by trade. I’m a programmer, I just use what I’ve picked up to do what I need. So things aren’t going to look stunning.
I’ll keep doing regular updates where I can.

Disclaimer incase a Naughty Dog employee happens to see this…
I’m not out to make money off this. Crash Bandicoot is what got me into gaming. I just want to see a new generation enjoy it as much as I did. The project will be released entirely free once it is finished. You own all the rights, and I’ll be crediting that.

Here’s what I’ve got so far… It’s about two weeks work.

My focus for the next week is to get the crate interactions down.

So far I’ve done:

• Crash moves, jumps, flips, etc.
  • Crash’s spin attack works, albeit with a bad animation.
  • Arrow Crate - Allowing crash to reach higher when he bounces on it
  • Wumpa Fruit - Can be collected and when 100 is reached, a new life is given
  • Basic Crate, two variants, upon being broken releases Wumpa Fruit.

Th first crash bandicoot is a timeless classic in my book! Would love to see some sort of remake, keep it up.