Course: Creating and Modifying Control Rig

Animate inside Unreal Engine with the Control Rig Plugin! This course covers the entire pipeline, including importing or creating rigs, animating characters directly in real-time, and using baking techniques to manipulate mocap animations.

https://dev.epicgames.com/community/learning/courses/5vL/unreal-engine-creating-and-modifying-control-rig

3 Likes

Hi,

thanks for this tutorial. It was a great course up until the end of “Create Controls for Setup” where you make a cut and then have all controls for all the bones set up already. I would have really liked to follow along, but you are not showing the offsets, shapes, etc. for the controls that you have added in between, so from that point on I can really just sit and watch the video instead of redoing all the steps myself.

9 Likes

This was a wonderful breakdown of how a control rig works, I’m very new to unreal in general but this course helped with familiarizing how they’re setup and where to navigate to in order to build one.
My first glance at a control rig left me feeling very overwhelmed but after seeing each part explained individually, with the key details highlighted, i feel i can now see the possibilities and the importance of all the detail.

Thank you for taking the time to put this together and making it accessible for those interested in animation.

1 Like

Hey All,

Thank you for the comments, everyone. It is always great when the community shares with us!

Feel free to share any more suggestions for ways to improve our content to meet your needs. We are always looking at feedback to help refine our courses in the future.

-Matt, Epic Online Learning

One thing that ive found really helpful when following courses is downloading a project file tied to the course and creating a new file along side the ones that already exist, that way it helps with filling in details that might be left out of the video itself to save for time.