Copyright issues when releasing a demo, advice needed

I have a demo for a space combat game that will be ready soon. First stage will be single player for basic testing similar to this demo Projectiles Pack in Blueprints - UE Marketplace (which is a lot of fun btw)

My assets are from Turbosquid and the Unreal Store. My 2 issues of concern are:

1. How do I copyright what I’ve made so far (assuming I own all the rights) and make sure someone doesn’t try to steal spacecombatdemo.exe and repackage it?

2. Should I send out legal notices before I receive donations? I made as sure as possible that the assets I bought/downloaded had the Royalty Free License All Extended Uses clause

I want to put the demo up on GumRoad so I can receive donations to fund development. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Hey Mike… if you find that answer, please let us know…lol!! but yea man… if you made everything yourself then you don’t need know to worry about copyright. but if you bought some assets from Turbosquid to speed up
development then i am sure people put in some kind of Attribution notice in the description section saying you have to give credit which would usually be in your credits page. if there isn’t any notice then it usually mean the
artist is giving that model for free. but i would try to contact the artist via E-Mail just to make sure. and as for the Legal Notice on your side, you can put what you don’t want the consumer/player to do with your product in your ELUA.
i mean it’s helps but it isn’t going to completely stop it, but it helps. all we can do is hope for the best… and as for the funding part, i don’t know anything about GumRoad i am assuming it is like Kickstarter and in that
case i would advise you post a Gameplay Video or and little Trailer showcasing your game instead and wait till your game starts getting some traction and then maybe post a demo.

Hope this helped