Controlling a pawn with player controller, im losing my mind

So I’m an artist at heart, but I’m giving this a go because it’s fun, but I can’t for the life of me get my head around it.
So I have a Player Controller Blueprint with this ‘move forward’ action:

it references a blueprint interface that goes to my pawn character:

that recieves the command and should move forward…
But nothing happens. I’ve set the gamemode up and my pawn sits there in front of me in game, so the game mode works, but nothing fires in the blueprint, no red dots travel along the lines and nothing happens…
halp? am i doing something horribly wrong?
I tried doing the same but with a character instead of a pawn, and I got some physics actions to work, but still none of MY inputs did anything…

It doesn’t look like you are sending it to the controlled pawn, but instead calling move forward on the controlling itself. Get a reference to the controlled pawn, cast it to your pawn class and then call move forward on it.

Your MoveForward in the first picture is not an interface message. It’s just calling a function in your controller called MoveForward. The “Target Is BP Controller” text tells you that it’s not targeting the pawn. Also Interface messages have a little letter icon at the top right.

But there’s no real reason to be using an interface for this in a Player Controller, because Interfaces are mainly used when you do not know what class you will be sending the event to. Is that the case, or are all your controllable pawns of the same class?

If so, you can just (in your controller) **GetControlledPawn -> Cast to your pawn class -> Call a function/event **(create a custom event instead of your Interface “Event Move Forward” event).