Connect to database: Client side or server side

Hello everyone,

I’m trying to connect my game to database not sure which one but that really doesn’t matter now. My question is: Which is better way to connect to database? With C++ code directly or send POST requests to web server. I searched few days to connect to database with c++ code but I had no success. And now I’m thinking of making C# ASP.NET web server and send variables from the game to that server and from C# code save it in database. But I’m afraid that it will be quite slow… Any better ideas?

you NEVER want to connect to a database directly client side it leaves a lot of room for breaches, better to use a webserver for requests, also it you can keep it server side i would go that route anything client side has a higher risk

best bet is to probably have it server side and have the server send the info directly to the database (please note im still learning this myself so best to research it)

Defenetly keep connection server side and have client recuest data from server.
Its worth to note that UE 4 has SQLite support so you can get alot done with that.

But if it is something external then are some tutorials/ threads on the forum.
And you also may want to checkout the docs on Database Support.
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/API/Runtime/DatabaseSupport/index.html

And to save you some time is the API on Sockets :wink:

Hope it helps.

Never trust the client.

's how I would design the database interaction:

Client <—> Server <—> Database

Assuming you’re using a SQL database, where do the queries get created and run? On the server. A client shouldn’t even know that a backend database exists. It just interacts with the server and sends requests to the server and the server sends back responses.

Example query:
Client to server: What is the current high score leaderboard?
Server to client: Hang on, let me give you a list of names and scores!