Computer Parameters for Llamas

Hi people,

I am totally new to UE, in fact, need to buy a computer to give it a try! :slight_smile: But the aim is to do annoyingly detailed interior cgi’s professionally …one day.

So im about to get a new machine built, but i’ve got a right headache from all the information i’ve gathered and im not sure if im not overdoing it.
Can you please tell me what do you use …or comment on these parameters for example similar to wired2fire diablo

Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Ram: 16 or 32 GB ?? DDR4
Graphics: 6GB Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti … or two “weaker” graphic cards? do you have 1 ot 2.
Storage: 250 or 500 GB SSD ?(+1TB HD)

Is it enough / or a waste for interior CGI’s + animations?

Also, 3ds max, zbrush/mudbox, aftereffects, postproduction-wise … are there any parameter tweaks i should look out for?

Senkju! Grateful

As far as if you’re overdoing it, that depends on how much you want to spend. The CPU will improve your building times, that’s for building lighting, and other programs like 3ds Max/After Effects/Zbrush/etc. rely a lot on the CPU.
The RAM controls the amount of content for rendering–when you build lighting in UE4, or you render something in 3ds Max, it loads the geometry and textures into memory, if you have a lot of stuff then you can run out of memory. If you do a large map with lots of plants in UE4 then you can easily run out of memory since it also has to create lightmaps that are loaded into RAM. 16GB is probably fine.
The GPU is very good, a good value for what it can do. Using multiple GPU’s doesn’t help usually, since most programs can’t take advantage of multiple graphics cards, including UE4, so it’s better to get the fastest single card you can afford.