Computer Builds for UE4 Development

Hello all! Two of us are developing a very large, complex game in UE4 but neither of our computers are quite up to the task.

Old System 1: Core i5-4440, 16GB DDR3, GTX 760 2GB, MSI Z87M-G43, 2TB 7200RPM (OS+Data)
Old System 2: AMD FX-6300, 16GB DDR3, Radeon R9 ?, unknown MB, unknown HDD size (this is not my computer and I’m not near it to check exact specs)

I want to build New System 1 from scratch and rebuild Old System 1 into New System 2. That way I can reuse as much hardware as possible. Here is what I’ve come up with so far.

New System 1: Core i7-5820K, 32GB DDR4, GTX 970 4GB, MSI X99A, 1TB SSD (OS+Game), 2TB 7200RPM (Data+Backup)
New System 2: Core i7-4790K, 32GB DDR3, GTX 760 2GB, MSI Z87M-G43, 500GB SSD (OS+Game), 2TB 7200RPM (Data+Backup)

Both setups would be with three 1080P monitors.

We are new to game development and UE4 in general so while I am a full time computer technician and have no problem selecting parts I’m simply not sure what the bottleneck is. Since my i5 is maxed out for long periods of time, I’m thinking the CPU is very important, and since it takes so long to open the files the SSD would help a lot.

What are your thoughts on these builds?

Thank you :slight_smile:

In that situation I’d look into getting a GTX 980 instead of the 970, which supposedly they are dropping prices.
On the second system, I’d be concerned with doing 3 1080p monitors with a graphics card with 2GB of memory and trying to do a big complex project.

In a similar vein to this, is there a recommended spec for swarm nodes? do they need good GPUs? the swarm documentation sayst it uses gpu for exporting processes but is that just on the controller pc?