Computer Backup

Hi everyone,

I have read a few threads here in the forum and online about the practices of backups just in case things goes wrong.

In short, I heard it is best to backup to multiple places and also to an offsite location just in case something like a fire happens. For offsite, I heard of methods like cloud storage but also heard that some people don’t trust it. Why? If everything is encrypted shouldn’t that not be a problem? Or am I missing something. Is there a better solution for offsite backups?

Thanks

Cloud storage solutions have been compromised in the past, and some businesses will even give themselves the ability to inspect your files through their TOS. It’s certainly best to make multiple backups, but I wouldn’t personally use cloud storage for my files. Portable HDDs are relatively cheap for 1-2TB.

As a hobbyist, I use an external drive and a portable install of a program called SyncFolders to back up my work. I just set up a rule to compare and copy a project (minus the saved and intermediate folders, which can be regenerated) and just run it at the end of each session.

Yes, that’s basically the reasons I haven’t been using the cloud all this time. But if so, how do you make offsite backups just in case of disasters like fire. Just having a bunch of externals don’t protect against that. I don’t have other family living in the city with me except in my house. So no other buildings I can put it in. I heard some people use the safety deposit at the bank, but I don’t want to use that if possible.

I can recommend you Acronis, it’ll make images that also support incrementation. During one of my games i started using it - it’s fantastic, weekly full image with daily increments so you can always revert back a day. Once setup the backup is fully automatic running in the background. Their software also supports networking so you can store it on a NAS automatically as well. Plus it’s not really expensive.