Complete Newb, and as expected, a couple of questions?

Back in the day, I would use game editors to make machinima films, such as Warcraft 3, StarCraft 2, Age of Mythology, etc… I really enjoyed animating this way because I could use the game assets, and define via logic what my scene would do. I could create new zones which triggered different animations, effects, etc because these all existed in game. For example, instead of playing a walking animation and also transforming the actor, I could just tell him to move to a specific position, and using the games pathfinding and built in logic, the actor would just move to that position… maybe even entering a zone which triggered a whole slew of stuff.

Since then I have tried my hand at regular animation, using iClone (from Reallusion). However, I really missed automatic events, actor AI, and programmable access.

So I want to try this with UE5. But can I make a cinematic, more like a short feature, programmatically as opposed to playing animations and transforming things around? Assuming I built a game character, and he/they have animations could I just have the character move to a certain position? Would events or triggers set up in the map level actually trigger if an actor enters a specific zone as opposed to the animator triggering these types of behaviour via a timeline? And if so, are there any good examples, tutorials, or learning resources on accomplishing this?

o/
Ofc you can make anything programmatically, it’s UE :wink:
Depends on how much time You want to put into it, as essentially besides learning cinematic’s & Sequencer you also need to learn blueprints scripting, animation graphs, probably some AI concepts, animating in engine, VFX & destruction and basic game framework.