Download

Complete Beginner To Game Development

Hey guys, so I am a newbie when it comes to becoming a game developer. I’ve always wanted to make a game but I always never find the motivation to do it. I’m currently learning HTML5 and CSS3 for web development which I hope to use as like my main job then do game development as a hobby (I am looking at being a indie developer). I’m new to all of this and I really want a good starting point for myself in the field. I can take a bit of time to learn things and concentration for me is generally hard no matter what I am learning. So, what I am wondering is - what game engine should I pick if I am a beginner, what programming language should I pick, etc etc; you get the point. But also, I am kind of interested by both game engines and libraries such as LWJGL. So where does a normal, simple beginner start? Please reply with sense, don’t just say go to the epic games tutorials and watch there. Like, think back to when you started - where should I start and what do I need to do, to not fail 100% of the time; I will fail at some point because everyone does. I am aware. Anyway, thanks.

UE4 is probably the quickest route towards making an actual game. You won’t have to learn programming (though you will build skills useful for that), and you don’t have to make everything yourself. If you actually do want to write your own game from scratch (or basically from the ground up) there are some libraries that you can use to get started. I’d recommend steering clear of Java (Perhaps instead C++ (pretty much industry standard) or something web-based), but if you really wanted you could use it. Some (not all) frameworks you can choose from here, as well as a listing of game engines recommended by other devs (further down that page).

There are a number of resources and tutorials out there, you can find them easily on google.

Having said all that…