Communicating between separate blueprints

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the blueprinting system and I’m running into confusion left, right and center, however I know making mistakes and experimenting is necessary! I’ve followed a few tutorials to get me going and I’m concurrently building a project pertaining to my university course, which contains an object inspection mechanic inside of the ‘FirstPersonCharacter’ blueprint, and a seperate blueprint holding a spotlight which loops visibility on a timer in the event graph…the question is, how do I get the spotlight to temporarily stay visible every time the inspection mechanic is active (the sequence of the player inspecting)?

Here is the blueprint for the inspection

The spotlight behavior logic

You can call events, modify variables, and modify properties from the Cast To node. For example, you could drag off of the actor reference pin and you’ll notice that the options that come up pertain specifically to that casted object. To modify the visibility of an object, drag off from the Cast To node and type “set visibility”.

The problem is that I’m casting to the Spotlight_BP and my cast node requires the spotlight component reference to plug into the ‘object’ pin :confused:

If it’s a component in the actor you can drag off its reference to activate and deactivate.

Hardcoded references between isolated blueprints is almost always a bad idea.
Interfaces and event dispatchers are most of the time a better communication mechanism.

The “Object” slot needs a specific instance of your spotlight blueprint.

For example, I might have a blueprint called “car_bp”. I can put several of those "car_bp"s in my level. Without referencing which one in particular you want to cast to, the cast doesn’t know which instance it’s meant to affect.