Collision slows ball motion, but I dont know why

Override the modes. Min for Friction and Max for Restitution. See if that behaves as expected. With modes overridden, you then need the phys material on the ball only.

Hello,

Absolute beginner here. I try to make a Pong like game, just for learning the UE and Blueprints.
What I dont get is why my Pong ball is slowing down only when it hits the AI paddle.

I gave bouncy materials with friction 0 and restitution 1 to every mesh/actor. If the Ball is hitting the player paddle or top/bottom wall, the bounce speed is the same as the hit speed, exactly how I wanted it to be (f.e. x-500 on hitting the PlayerPaddle and x500 as bounce away speed). But if it hits the AiPaddle on the right side, then the bounce speed is always slower than the hitspeed.

The Paddle mesh in Aipaddle actor is copied from the Playerpaddle and I already used hours to check if every option is the same. Also there is no blueprint code touching any physics at the moment, beside the initial addimpuls. Gravity in Project settings is 0.

Project Upload: https://easyupload.io/yfl000

I just tried that and it still doesn´t work unfortunately, although that trick is handy to know for the future. I just uploaded my project (600mb) : https://easyupload.io/yfl000

This is caused by the AI Test’s Tick calling Move Component To every frame. You’ll need a better way to move the paddle.

As in to why it’d affect physics in this peculiar way, I’ve got no clue. Would need to have a look at what this node does under the hood.

This could work:

Image from Gyazo

Also, the paddles do not need physics here (unless you’re planning something special for them).

Thanks a lot Everynone, that´s working ! :slight_smile:
Btw F-Add-Force is also affecting the physics like move-component-to, I wonder why.