Coin Counter HUD not working

So basically when the player picks up coins, I want it to update to the HUD I created.
I added a print string and that works when I overlap the object but it’s not updating to the HUD.
I’m still new to UE4 so I’m sorry if the solution is so simple.

35790-coin_hud.png

Hi, you need to store the coins count variable somewhere else, cause the coin gets destroyed after you collect it and you loose the coin count, GameMode would be a good choise, so you create this coins count variable there and when coin gets picked up you’d cast to GameMode and update the countVariable.

So here’s what you need to do:

1- Create a MyGameModeBP (blueprint) if you haven’t yet , (choose MyGameMode class as parent).

2- In MyGameModeBP create a variable integer CoinsCount.

3- In your CoinPickupBP add these nodes and it should do the job:

I would then also suggest this video to give you a good understanding how the UE4 is setup.

Good Luck :wink: !

Ok, firstly, welcome to your journey with Unreal Engine 4.

What you need is to store the coin count variable in a main blueprint such as your PlayerController or the Main Level Blueprint, Game State, Player State, or Game Save depending on weither or not your values of the variable are to be replicated.

The first part of your visual script code using Blueprints shows you are printing the text for 1 coin each time with an addition of only 1 count and you’re destroying the object before continuing the rest.

The problem with count would be if you destroy the object and only are updating the variable in the object you are destroying the variable will always have the same value it starts out with when create, which in this case is 0 which is why it is displaying a value of 1 twice.

To keep the coin count consistent, you need to reference the variable from outside the class/blueprint/object you are destroying.