Code Error Member Function can't be redeclared outside of it's class

So I was following this tutorial and I was following it nicely not getting any errors until now.

// Called when the game starts or when spawned
void AFPSCharacter::BeginPlay()
{
	Super::BeginPlay();

if (GEngine)
	{
		//put up a debug message for 5 seconds. the -1 "Key" value (first arguement) indicates we never need to update or refresh this message
		GEngine->AddOnScreenDebugMessage(-1, 5.0f, FColor::, TEXT("We are using FPSCharacter"));
	}

}

The code block above is in FPSCharacter.cpp and it is giving me an error where void AFPSCharacter::BeginPlay() is, saying that BeginPlay() function can not be redeclared outside it’s function. I am relatively new to C++ still and I would like help as this is halting all my progress at the moment.

Hello Nathan,

I’m not sure why it would be giving you this error with this context. Could you post the full .cpp and .h files? It may be easier to paste them on a third party website like and then link them here.

here is my full code

http:///Q08TH7qE

Hm, it could be one of those situations where it’s giving the wrong error and throwing us off. One thing I did notice is that you’re using GEngine without including Engine.h. Could you try including that and see if that changes anything?

In looking in your code on pastebin I noticed you’ve neglected to include the closing brace on your constructor:

// Sets default values
AFPSCharacter::AFPSCharacter()
{
    // Set this character to call Tick() every frame.  You can turn this off to improve performance if you don't need it.
    PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

//Create a first person camera component
    FPSCameraComponent = CreateDefaultSubobject<UCameraComponent>(TEXT("FirstPersonCamera"));
    //Attach the camera component to our capsule component
    FPSCameraComponent->AttachTo(GetCapsuleComponent());
    //Position the camera slightly above the eyes