Client-server multiplayer and google play services

I am completely new to game development and even UE, but my question is I want to create a multiplayer client-server game so will i need a wifi router/its IP address for creating my server ?? Can i create a client server turn based/real time multiplayer android game with google play services using c++?? Does that need wifi router/IP address too?? Thanks for your answer…

I don’t think the router ip address comes into play.

For testing purposes, if you build a dedicated server and run it on another computer on your network, the client will require the ip address of that computer in order to connect.

If you host your dedicated server on the internet, the clients will require the ip address of the host.

querries clients andd etc. luckily if you know c++ sql not to hard

Thanks for your reply

Hi. I like seeing new people getting interested in game development as it is certianly a hobby I really enjoy. So, multiplayer client-server game is your end goal and you are new to UE4? If you are familiar with C++ in UE4 there are some good tutorials out there for you. If you are not familiar with C++ I suggest learning the basics of that as well as the basics of data structures in programming before even starting multiplayer games. You could also start and prototype in Blueprints as well if you really just want to jump into game development. No matter the route, I support it, but I suggest learning the basics first.