Cinematic Pipeline with Unreal Engine

Folks,

Let me start by making it clear that I am not really a gamer or game developer. I am a producer for film and TV, but I have been in and out (mostly out) of the CGI world for a long time so I can understand the basics and usually find my way around related software, but until recently, I wasn’t even aware of Unreal Engine.

For no apparent reason, about 6 months ago, someone sent me a link to Unreal Engine and said, “You’re welcome.” Being curious, I dug into it. I gave myself a 30 day time frame to see how much I could learn and achieve. The results are here: https://youtu.be/DV5l7d4b9Cs

During that time, I was beginning to wonder if I could use UE4 purely as a rendering engine for an animated project, a TV show, specifically. I had only one previous experience with using a GPU based renderer, which had it pros and cons vs something like VRay. It had been mostly positive, but the company is no longer around and development ceased. However, it was not a game engine, and behaved and could be treated almost as a normal renderer.

Unreal, on the other hand, while extremely powerful and capable of amazing results, is a game engine first, and through the course of my next test, I would come across many hurdles. Sometimes, I felt the constraints were limiting me, and my ability to achieve exactly what I desired, but in the end, I was able to get very close to my intended goal. With more time, I realized that I could probably get exactly what I wanted, however, as this is just a test, I have to draw a line somewhere and start putting efforts into the next phase of the project.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=a3rH2nl3_5k