Download

Choosing the most suitable playing mode

Hello,

I’m new to UE4 came from Unity,
Really confused about Actor,Pawn,DefaultPawn,Cntroller and Character and I really need and explanation that shows the difference between them.

I’m creating a ball game in third person view

-The main character is a ball running through different environments
-The ball movements (only left and right with one click) is controlled by one player
-I’m trying to achieve movements by using rotations and transitions (no forces or impulses)

my problem is that I’m confused about what is the most suitable blueprint class for my character

here what I tried so far:

• the character blueprint (since it’s have a built-in player controller) but it needs a skeletal mesh that I don’t have

-The pawn blueprint ,I attached the camera and my mesh,but the pawn blueprint don’t have built-in player controller (I’m confused about this,or how could I somehow add the default playercontroller to my pawn)

-The default pawn blueprint which I couldn’t get the camera works properly .

how could I solve this !?

For almost everything its “clean blueprint”. Unless you are really certain that premade game mode fits exactly what you need.
It is easier to script basic stuff than to change/remove things coded for you in C++.

Follow this TUT: https://wiki.unrealengine.com/Blueprint_Six-DOF_Flying_Pawn_Tutorial
After making it all you will find that your ball game mode is subset of this FPS with added physics and gravity.

It sounds like you do not want to create a Character based blueprint. Characters are all about walking around. So you will want to create a Pawn based Blueprint, which means you will have to either write the movement logic yourself, or use physics to get the ball rolling (just turn on Simulate Physics and add forces based on input).

I ended up with writing the movement logic by my self, but still I have problems with that.