Choosing Right 3d Software For Game Development

Hello guys. Firstly I should say that this is not “Which software is the best” or “Is X software better than Y”. Currently I study software engineering in university so I need a 3d software to complete my projects. I have been working on Maya for several weeks but my friend said that(which is professional in the industry) Maya is not suitable for one man team because of the development proccess and complexity of the program. Since I am one man team, this makes me worry about future.

The other thing is that I also want to work with Houdini which looks like really suitable for me.(honestly I have no experience with it but I can say that according to my research on the web about Houdini) Because it’s working logic similar to software languages such as C# or Java.(This is the comment which I have read on the Houdini forums) and also it requires some math and maybe physics which is good for me. Houdini’s VFX, animations, fluids and maybe even rigging aspects are really good as I know. However, It lacks of modeling aspects. I think I need a good modeling software which works well with Houdini and UE4. I mean I am looking for a good compainion for Houdini.

Lastly please don’t tell me that “try each software”. Because I need to study in the university and I want to learn a 3d software in my free time. So have no time to try each of them. Also I would like to know your opinion about Houdini and Maya. Please remember I am a one man team.

Thank you for answers :slight_smile:

Maya is just fine for a one man team, unless you want to get into technical types of stuff (Houdini is popular for simulation) then stick with Maya. Especially for games Maya/3ds Max will be easier to work with than Houdini. I would say few studios use Houdini for games, most use 3ds Max or Maya.

https://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1590&Itemid=337