Choosing a Game Engine for a turned based game

Hello unreal forum!

I’m new to game development and I would like some help with choosing the game engine.
I have some programming experience but that was mostly in python. My friend that is going to make this game with me has a lot more programming experience.
We want to make a turn based dungeon crawler type game similare to Pokemon mystery dungeon.

I’ve played around with unity and unreal engine for a little bit but I can’t decide what game engine to choose and I hope you could help me with choosing.

I know the two game engines have there pros and cons but it is hard to find what would be the best for us.
From what I’ve seen Unreal Engine has more features but unity has a greater asset store.
Unreal Engine looks really nice and it takes a lot less work to make a game look good but unity is faster.
It would be nice if the game could run on a intel Graphics of 4000 but we haven’t decided the hardware requirements yet.
It would be really nice if we could have a highly changeable graphic settings for the game.

There are also a lot of other things that are different with the two game engines.
Hopefully you can help us with choosing the best game engine for us!

Thanks in advance!

Well, plenty of games have been made in Unity that do this kind of thing. I suspect you could do it in Unreal too, but people tend to focus on other things for Unreal. It sounds like, and I could be wrong, you’re pretty new one way or another… so I’d actually say Unity may be the better place to start, as it will be a little easier to do the initial work. again, I never tried to make a game like this in either engine so I should probably not be listened to much :smiley:

Well thanks for your advice. I’ll look more into it!

Isn’t unreal engine easier to begin with now a days with the blueprint system?
I played around with the engines and I liked unreal engine more than unity