Child actor components and the cost of UpdateTransform

Hi all,
I’m working on a space combat sim with somewhat large spaceships.
The development is going well (considering I’m a beginner) and the game so far works exactly in the way I want :slight_smile:
However, I am concerned by the fact that I might be spending far too much CPU for topics which could be strongly optimized.

I’d like to ask for advice and help in optimizing the ship subsystems.
These subsystems are all important systems of the ship: engines, turrets, sensors etc. I have them as Child Actor Components inside my ship blueprint.
They contain their own functionalities, completely run by events, with ALL ticks disabled. What needs to tick is setup with timers on Custom Events (e.g. every 1s).
The subsystems are also able to take damage and get disabled.
They have no meshes, just the SceneRoot. They have no collision.
They also use the “Use parent attach bound” option, which I read somewhere it’s a good optimization in this case. It seemed to me that this helped, but not really enough.

When I run the typical Stat Runfile and analyze it in the Session Frontend, I see that there is a very high cost to update the Transform of these Child Actors.
This is perfectly affordable up until <5-8 ships, but makes the game somewhat slowdown below 60FPS if they become >10.

How can I optimize this kind of ship subsystems?
Should I remake them into Components? Would that actually be an optimization?
Are there other ways to implement such subsystems into a ship?
Any suggestion? :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot for any help or suggestion on this topic! :slight_smile:

On just updating rotations of stuff like turrets?

Nope, I have zero meshes in the subsystems and the “turrets” don’t actually rotate.
I just made them as an Actor with no mesh and it doesn’t even rotate.
It has a direction and checks if the enemy is within a certain firing arc. If so, spawns the projectile.
Nothing else, very minimalistic :slight_smile: