Download

Checking if Player is in Camera View

Hi,

I’m a newbie and trying to make a security camera and i already did a way for checking the player with a Raycast to player position and it works well right now :

But problem is,that i’m trying to to do a second check for player position with a Camera to see if player is front of Camera or not.
I’ve found a way to check it with player camera in the UE answers :

bool ASecCamera::Check(AActor* Actor)
{
ULocalPlayer* LocalPlayer = GetWorld()->GetFirstLocalPlayerFromController();

if (LocalPlayer != nullptr && LocalPlayer->ViewportClient != nullptr && LocalPlayer->ViewportClient->Viewport)
{
    FSceneViewFamilyContext ViewFamily(FSceneViewFamily::ConstructionValues(LocalPlayer->ViewportClient->Viewport,GetWorld()->Scene,LocalPlayer->ViewportClient->EngineShowFlags).SetRealtimeUpdate(true));

FVector ViewLocation;
    FRotator ViewRotation;
    FSceneView* SceneView = LocalPlayer->CalcSceneView(&ViewFamily, ViewLocation, ViewRotation, LocalPlayer->ViewportClient->Viewport);
    if (SceneView != nullptr)
    {
        return SceneView->ViewFrustum.IntersectSphere(Actor->GetActorLocation(), Actor->GetSimpleCollisionRadius());    
    }
}

return false;

}

But as i said it just works with Player Camera and local player.

Is it possible to check it with another Camera to see if player is front of it for a amount of time ? i wasn’t able to change the upper code for this purpose as “CalcSceneView” only works with local player.

Hello let me see if i understand you, you want to detect a player in front of the camera in the air there?
You can ether make a capsule\ collision component and detect overlap.
Or you can do a trace from the camera actor you can run this several different ways.

The fastest is using the Actor Tick function but it is also the most expensive resource wise.
Also it a good idea to add a socket to the camera mesh that way you can trace from the lense a more accurately.