Checking attached actor on skeleton socket

Hi, I’m new to unreal/programming, I’m trying make a walking arsenal of a character/all the weapons he’ll use is attached to him, so far it worked but I wanna check if a certain slot on the skeleton already has the weapon attached to it, if so I want to either destroy the already attached weapon or do nothing with the new weapon that I’ve clicked to equip. (Or later maybe to compare the two weapons if I add upgrades/different weapons of the same variant…)

const USkeletalMeshSocket* KnifeSheath = GetMesh()->GetSocketByName("KnifeSheath");
const USkeletalMeshSocket* PistolSheath = GetMesh()->GetSocketByName("PistolSheath");

switch (Weapon->WeaponType)
{
case EWeaponType::EWT_Knife:

if (KnifeSheath)
{
Weapon->AttachToComponent(GetMesh(), FAttachmentTransformRules::SnapToTargetNotIncludingScale, "KnifeSheath");
Weapon->WeaponMesh->SetCollisionResponseToChannel(ECC_Pawn,ECR_Ignore);
}
break;

case EWeaponType::EWT_Pistol:

if (PistolSheath)
{

How do I check if there is already a weapon attached to a skeleton slot?
How do I get a hold of it?
How do I destroy it?

Want to know these before I try equipping the weapons to main hand/switching between the attached weapons next.

Thanks.

As far as I know, there is no way to check if an actor is attached to a socket. I think you should create an actor component that handles these equipments.

@ ** In the file SceneComponent.h at around line 630 to 661 there are a bunch of functions you will want to use to achieve that.

** /** Get the socket we are attached to. */
UFUNCTION(BlueprintCallable, Category="Utilities|Transformation")
FName GetAttachSocketName() const;**

line 729 has this

**/**
* Detach this component from whatever it is attached to. Automatically unwelds components that are welded together (See WeldTo)
* @param DetachmentRules How to handle transforms & modification when detaching.
*/