Cheat sheet on Blueprint Functions and Events

Hi,

First off all I would like to let you know that I’m totally new to the Unreal Engine. I’m a C++ developer for more than 20 years now (mostly application development) and I like to dive into game development for some new adventures. :slight_smile: I noticed that discussions about the programming part mostly is based on Blueprints. So I need to figure out how this works. There are some great tutorials and discussions about Blueprints. Still I’m having the same problems over and over again. Sometimes it is hard to find actions in the EventGraph and Construction Script. I’m using the latest Unreal Engine 4.10.4 on Windows 10.

For example: When conversion is used in a Blueprint, it is hard to see what kind of function or event is used. I understand that the input and output color tells me what the purpose of the function or event could be, but sometimes it is hard to find the right action. In some cases I can’t even find an action at all and the tutorial becomes useless to me. This results in wasting time. :frowning:

Example of a ToFloat(byte). Without working experience it is hard to see what it is about.

ConversionToFloatByte.PNG

Another example. In the image below there is something called ‘Get World Location at Distance Along Spline’. I can’t find this action. What can be the problem? Is this my failure, or maybe different translations in Unreal Engine versions? (I am familiar with the Context Sensitive checkbox in the Blueprint action overview)

So here is my question. Is there something like a cheat sheet to recognize functions and events? Or maybe can you advice me how to handle this matter?

Thank you in advance for your response and help. :slight_smile: