Charge Weapon

Hi, I would like to know if anyone can tell me how to setup a blueprint to. Hold down a key to charge a weapon. And when you let go of the key it shoots.I want to be able to charge up a particle system like a fireball.

On Click -> bool bIsCharging -> float charge += chargeRate
-> if charge == maxCharge -> shoot -> bIsCharging = false
-> else if ButtonRelease -> shoot -> bIsCharging = false

That’s the logic, same applies to blueprints. Obviously remember to reset the charge if the character dies, see if he’s holding a weapon to charge, etc etc.

Sorry im still new at all of this but i tried the set it up how you explained it is this what you ment?

The problem with that setup is that you aren’t actually incrementing your charge value… and you aren’t passing that charge value onward to the projectile!

Try something more like this.

Note: I use an Int value incremented by one at a fixed rate of time… so I have a short timeline which loops (at 0.1 in this case) and fires a single event every time it loops. If you want your charge to be more fluid, rather than working in discrete states, you’d instead want to set your Timeline up to have a length equal to the total charge time, and then add a float track that goes from 0 to 100 (or whatever max charge is) over that time. You would just have the Timeline’s main output pin set the charge state directly with that output float, rather than doing the incrementing math that I do, and then its “finish” pin would fire the shot if you wanted auto-fire.

Two schools of thought on the subject, I suppose.

Ok Thanks this works. But there are a few things i do not understand. Like the part about pluging the int into the spawn projectile there is no way it can be plugged in there. Also how can i stop it from firing without charging first.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Okay, so for the first bit: