Character wearing weapon or not

Hi all,

I’m new to Unreal Engine, and so far i have modelised the terrain + 1 ship + 1 futuristic scooter, i put them on the scene. Everything works pretty fine.

But i still have the default weapon and character arms :

What i’d like to do is set a variable :

heroe_current_weapon = 0 => (default value) then we don’t see neither the arms and the weapon, it means that the character has not farmed yet any weapons

heroe_current_weapon = 1 => The caracters has the less powerful weapon in the game, and he his carrying it while moving on the scene

heroe_current_weapon = 8 => The caracters has the most powerful weapon in the game, and he his carrying it while moving on the scene

How can i do so please ? How should i edit my character default blueprint ?

Thanks

Hey and welcome to Unreal Engine 4! This is not that hard to realise, the only problem is the weapon is in a mesh with the arms, so when you disable the weapon, you disable the arms. If you are familiar with modeling in 3ds max or Cinema 4D you can create your own arms. But you wanted that the arms are not visible too when heroe_current_weapon is zero. So for example you have an function called “Set actual weapon” and the input variable is your heroe_current_weapon. So it checks which value the variable has with an Equal (integer) and an branch (to check the bool). If its zero (branch outputs true), you take the Mesh1P and set the visibility by calling the same named function. If its 1 you set the visibility of Mesh1P and for different features of the weapon you have to take a look at the Spawn projectile comment in the MyCharacter blueprint, there you can modify stuff and make the weapon more powerful by adjusting the fire rate for example!
Regards

Thanks a lot iUltimateLP :slight_smile:

I just modelized my arm in 3ds max