Character Selection Game 3.0

Howdy,
My name is Topher and I am a college professor at a couple Toronto-area colleges, teaching game design and game development.
At one of the schools, where I teach character development, I have been trying to find ways of keeping the class fun and relevant to students.
At first, I was assigning characters based on concept art I held onto from a project where I was the character lead. The game was a first person shooter for console, similar in look to Counter Strike. This made sense to me as it was a real-world example of how character work is assigned and completed. I taught the course this way for a couple years and found I always lost the students’ attention about mid-way through the semester. I decided I would try to make the course a little more fun for the students and try to get them to be a little more engaged. The idea I came up with was to design and create characters that would serve as fictitious DLC packs for an existing game.

At the time, Injustice 2 had just been released and I thought it would be the perfect game to get my students more excited about character work. Since Injustice 2 has a wide variety of characters already, including the most popular DC comics heroes, I decided our ‘DLC’ would be Injustice 2, The Marvel Collection. We would be creating characters for Injustice 2, using their design rules and form language, but based on Marvels mightiest heroes.
I had a problem, however. I needed a way to randomly assign characters to the students. Without assigning characters I would end up with a class full of Spider-Man and Deadpool. I wanted every student to get their own character. So, Using UE4, I created a simple game we played in the first week of class to assign character to the students.