Character floating above the terrain at fixed "altitude"; not following terrain (imported static mesh)

Hi everyone. Total noob alert here; please be gentle.

I’ve recontructed part of a golf course with a drone and photogrammetry. The result is a textured FBX static mesh model, which I imported in UE. Goal is to let the golf course manager play with it and to possibly let golfers explore the course before actually going to play.
The idea is pretty simple: 1) use a first person shooter template, 2) import FBX and texture, 3) add trees and bushes (I removed them from the initial point cloud and 3D model in the photogrammetry program, since it’s hard to reconstruct them realistically), 4) compile.
However, my character is floating in the air and not following the static mesh terrain. It seems it’s just walking on this grid thing (see attachment). How can I make it walk on the surface of the mesh?
Thanks people! :slight_smile:

EDIT: already fixed it :slight_smile: Collision settings were wrong.

that will be a very heavy collision mesh if you are using “complex as simple”. There are ways to decimate the mesh (reduce its tri count while keeping its shape) in your 3d editing software of choice. Decimate it, save the lower tri count mesh as a collision mesh and use that as the complex collision.

Not really necessary for a proof of concept, but something to think about if the project gets to an end user stage.
Good Luck, sounds like Its gonna be awesome!

Thanks for your feedback! My golf course static mesh has about 1 million vertices, so it’s not really that big or complex. I did use the complex as simple option for collision. Is that perhaps the reason why my final “game” is 8 GB in size?? That’s ridiculous. I only imported a small piece of the total golf course (5 out of 45 holes) as a static mesh and just added trees along the borders and some bushes scattered across the terrain.