Character acceleration over time?

Hello everybody!
I’m a complete noob trying to make my a race-run game with blueprints. So i want to make my character act like a vehicle: button pressed - he starts running and accelerating over time; button released - character starts to slow down. And also im going to parametrize starting speed&acceleration so there would be several runners with different stats.
I am aware of basic maths like velocity=acceleration*time. The question is, which nodes should i plug these parameters into? I tried to add it into “add movement input” - no result. Tried to create curve and plug it into “Ease” node - had no idea how to plug curve in Ease alpha.
I even tried to create curve inside the timeline - still nothing.
I cant understand what am i missing, any suggestions, please?

Here are some screens of my attempts.

Greetings @GreenOk.1 !

Welcome to the Unreal Engine community! :medal_sports:

Just so you’re aware, this topic has been moved from the International forum category to the Programming & Scripting - Blueprint forum category. I added the optional tag “Blueprints-Programming” for you.

Just remember, when posting, please review the categories to ensure your topic is posted in the most relevant space.

Wishing you the best of luck in your game dev journey,

Your Friendly Neighborhood Moderator :smiley:

1 Like

Hey @GreenOk.1! Welcome to the forums!

Are you using a character or a vehicle? The character should come with “CharacterMovement” component, and within that component you can actually set your acceleration speed!

You can also drag the component into your graph to set it to different values during play.