Cel/Toon Shading Material Help UE4

I’ve been looking for information on how to do anime-style shading, but I didn’t like any of them since it didn’t look very stylized. I clarify that I am not an expert using UE4, I have barely been using it for a week and with the help of a tutorial I was able to create this material that suits what I want to create, but it still does not look as I would like. If someone could help me that would be great. I am attaching a shading that I did in Blender which is what I am trying to achieve in Unreal.

model is from hinokami chronicles
and this the material that i’m working.

The material uses two textures for the basic shading, one texture for the drawn shadows (thresholdtexture) and another in which there are some lines drawn.
What I’m trying to achieve is that when the character is fully lit the shadows that are drawn don’t disappear only if it’s completely dark. In the video that I uploaded you can see that the texture of the shadows drawn disappear when receiving light and also that the textures in general look as if they had some fusion option.

3 Likes

with the right approach, you can achieve Luffy life looks! Maybe combine various techniques such as texture manipulation, material setup, and post-processing effects?

1. Create a new material and assign your textures to the appropriate slots.
  • Adjust the material properties to achieve the desired stylized look. This might involve tweaking the colors, roughness, and specular values to match the anime shading style.
  1. Using Drawn Shadows:
  • To make the shadows persist even when the character is fully lit, you can use a technique called texture masking.
  • Create a mask texture (thresholdtexture) that defines where the shadows should appear. In this texture, areas that should be shadowed should have values closer to black, while areas that should remain lit should be closer to white.